Just Like Fine Wine

For two weeks I would walk into the studio and diddle with picking up this and that and make no headway at all.  Finally, I decided I had far too many bits and pieces that had been around for ages …perhaps had been given to me …maybe I didn’t even like them very much …but kept them around “because.”  It occurred to me that in my state of mind,and after so much time away, it would take a few hours to get my metal focus and kick start the creative process.  It also seemed that any piece I might work on was not likely to be something I was pleased with.  In fact, I spent a day trying to solder pieces, etc., and felt like my skills had been slipping.  …Talk about frustration and despair!  The following morning, I came across a wonderful video by Ira Glass.  I had seen it before, but this video ought to be on the “watch this” list every time I start thinking my artsy creations are crappy.  The man gives a wonderful perspective for beginning creatives at any level.  His message is basically: our taste is better than our skill and it takes lots of practice, but improvement will come, and it may take years to get to our goal …so be patient and keep on going.

20160127_174409 (2)So, I looked at projects that had been left to languish.  This wrap bracelet was well under way, had character and was ready to start right up where I left off.  It was actually meant to be a close duplicate of another I made for myself.  However, skills and creativity do increase, and I found that I was going far beyond my first project and getting my “wild” on.  Links were more creative and I launched my efforts with more speed and felt sure of the direction I was heading in.  This piece sold in the first few hours it was in the store, and for a higher value than I have received in the past.  Now, I am finding this is happening more frequently.

 

 

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

