Mine All Mine!

20160830_190838

 

Life has been challenging lately.  A few weeks ago you would have found me in the dentist’s chair as he ground away at two molars that had been suffering the effects of ancient fillings and fissures that might have given way with work and therefore required crowning.

Oh Misery!!!!

Well, the worst was yet to come.  Complications arose during the next week that slowed healing and ended up making my blood pressure go wonky.  Yikes!  Anyway, a visit to my doctor helped turn it all around and now I am pulling my life back together.  Last week I calmed and comforted myself with working in the studio again.  The splinter of creek shale is now a finished talisman.  Not content to stop with one piece, earrings quickly took form as my hands crafted the ideas gathering in my head.  I love how the pieces turned out, and it does bring me closer to my childhood at a time when I innocently followed my joy as I played in mountain streams and forests.  A delicious bonus is that shale is a smooth and slightly porous stone that can be used for the application of aromatherapy.  A few drops of essential oil are absorbed and hold a healing scent.

20160903_073754.1

 

Shale is grounding and said to align the root chakra, and remove old hurts and defensive walls.  It is also useful for finding a way to respond positively to new situations.  To  support and amplify shale’s healing energy, a chunky bit of green peridot got caged to dangle vine-like beside it.  Peridot was worn and jealously guarded by the pharaohs in ancient Egypt and is even mentioned in the Bible.  It can help tonify and protect the body, while balancing, detoxifying and cleansing negative emotions.  Pyrite nuggets give the talisman substance and help attract and manifest good luck.  Copper is highly recognized for its physical healing and grounding properties.

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

